Jahangir Khan recognised as greatest squash player of all time

January 14 2023

surprisesports.com have recognised Jahangir Khan as the greatest squash player of all time … included within their top ten male players of all time are Jansher Khan, Peter Nicol, Geoff Hunt, Jonathan Power, Chris Dittmar, F. D. Amr Bey, Hashim Khan, Jonah Barrington & Ramy Ashour.

Jahangir Khan is widely considered the greatest squash player the world has ever seen. Jahangir won the prestigious World Open Squash Championships a record six times & was British Open Squash Champion a record ten times. His fellow Pakistani player Jansher Khan & Peter Nicol of Scotland are recognised at No.2 & No.3 respectively among the list of greatest squash players of all time.

Jahangir Khan … greatest squash player ever:
Jahangir Khan was unbeaten in all competitive play for a record 555 consecutive matches from 1981 to 1986 & is the Guinness World Records holder for this 555-winning legacy as the longest winning streak by any athlete in any top-level professional sport.

Jahangir won the World Amateur Squash Championships at 15 year-of-age & became the World Open Squash Champion at 17 years-of-age to become the youngest ever World Champion in squash history.

Jahangir won the British Squash Open a record ten times & the World Squash Open six times during his career & when he retired became the President of the World Squash Federation (WSF) from 2002 to 2008.

In 2012, Jahangir was re-appointed as the World Squash Federation Emeritus President.

Jansher Khan:
Fellow Pakistani squash player Jansher Khan was considered one of the best players in the history of the sport & Jahangir’s most difficult opponent even when playing at his best.

Jansher Khan was crowned World Junior Squash Champion in 1986 at the age of 17 & achieved his first win over Jahangir Khan at the Hong Kong Squash Open the following year, going on to beat Jahangir in their next eight encounters.

Jansher was ranked World No. 1 for over 10 years & won a total of 99 Professional Squash Association (PSA) World Tour titles, including winning the World Squash Open eight times & the British Open six times, before retiring in 2002.

Peter Nicol:
Born in Scotland, Peter Nicol represented both Scotland & England during his career & in 1998 became the first Englishman to be ranked World No.1.

During his career, Peter won a World Squash Open title, two British Squash Open titles & four Commonwealth Games Gold Medals. He won three consecutive PSA Super Series Finals titles, two PSA Squash Masters titles, two British National Squash Championship titles & three Tournament of Champions titles.

Peter won a total of 52 PSA World Tour titles from 69 PSA World Tour finals & was ranked World No.1 for a total of 60 months, including 24 consecutive months from 2002 to 2003.

Geoff Hunt:
Australian Geoff Hunt was the standout player during what was considered a golden era for squash. Geoff won the Australian Junior Championship in 1963 & turned professional after winning the Australian Amateur Squash Championship in 1965.

Geoff was the inaugural World Open Squash Champion in 1976, winning the title on four consecutive occasions from 1976 to 1980.

A winner of eight British Open Squash titles between 1969 to 1981, Geoff also won the International Amateur Individual Squash Championship three times from 1967 to 1971 & following his retirement was inducted into the World Squash Federation (WSF) Hall of Fame & also the Sport Australia Hall of Fame.

Jonathon Power:
Jonathan Power is the first & only North American squash player to be ranked World No. 1 & won 36 PSA World Tour titles from 58 final appearances during his career.

Recognised as one of the most talented shot makers in the history of squash, Jonathan was acclaimed for his wide variety of deception shots.

Jonathan won the World Squash Open in 1998, the British Squash Open in 1999, the PSA Squash Masters three times from 2001 to 2005, the PSA Super Series Finals two times from 2003 to 2005, the Tournament of Champions four times from 1996 to 2002 & also won the Men’s Singles Gold Medal at the 2002 Commonwealth Games.

Following his retirement in 2006, Jonathan foundered the Power Squash Academy in Toronto, Canada.

Chris Dittmar:
Australian Chris Dittmar is widely considered the best squash player never to have won either of sport’s two biggest titles. Chris won the British Open Junior Championship in 1981 but never won either the World Open or British Open.

Many sports critics stated that he was perhaps unlucky to play squash during the same era as the two great Pakistani players, Jahangir Khan & Jansher Khan.

Chris participated in five World Open finals between 1983 to 1992, was runner-up at the British Open in 1985 & 1993, & captained the Australian National Squash Team which won the World Team Squash Championships in 1989.

F-D Amr Bey:
F. D. Amr Bey of Egypt was the first truly dominant squash player in the history of the sport having started his squash journey as a ball boy at Gezira Sporting Club in Egypt.

Amr won his first British Squash Open title in 1933 before going on to win the title for six consecutive years from 1933 to 1938 & is acknowledged in the Guinness Book of World Records for winning the British Amateur Championship six times from 1931 to 1937.

Honoured as the pioneer leader in the “golden age of sports in Egypt” & nicknamed the “Human Streak of Lightning,” Amr Bey received the World Squash Awards’ Lifetime Achievement Award in 2009.

Hashim Khan:
Hashim Khan was regarded as the best squash player of the pre-modern era & also one of the best athletes in sports history.

Having started his squash journey as an unpaid ball boy at a club for British Army Officers in Peshawar, Pakistan, Hashim won his first championship in the All-of-India Squash Championship in 1944 in Bombay (now Mumbai), India.

Hashim won the title for the next two years, as well as the first Pakistani Squash Championship after being appointed as Squash Professional at the Pakistan Air Force in 1949.

A winner pf seven British Open Squash Championships, including consecutive titles from 1951 to 1956 & again in 1958, Hashim died on 18th August 2014 at the age of 100.

Jonah Barrington:
English-born Irish squash player, Jonah Barrington won the British Squash Open title six times from 1967 to 1973 to become the most successful British squash player of all-time.

Ramy Ashour:
At 22 years-of-age, Ramy Ashour of Egypt became the youngest player since the 1980s to be ranked World No.1 & went on to be considered as one of the best squash players of the modern era.

Ramy won the Men’s World Junior Squash Championship in 2004 at 16 years-of-age & in 2006 became the first player in squash history to win two World Junior Championship titles, before winning his first Professional Squash Association (PSA) World Tour title at the Canadian Squash Classic in 2007.

Ramy won two World Squash Open titles in 2008 & 2012 & was runner-up in 2009. He also won the British Squash Open in 2013 & the Hong Kong Open two times in 2010 & 2012, as well as the Qatar Squash Classic in 2007 & the US Squash Open in 2012.